Aside from the basic I-9 and w-4 required by all companies in California , all Home Care Companies in California require documentation on all of its Home Care Aides. These documents will be checked during regular surveys done by the Department of Social Services.
This survey can happen at anytime, often within 6 months of getting a license. They will have a list of all Home Care Aides associated with your company. They will verify that you have all the documents required by law for each of home care aide associated with your company. Licensing is mandated to survey all home care companies every 2 years.
HCS 501 – Personnel Record
The personnel Record is a standard form with the employee’s basic information. It should be the first page on your employee file.
HCS 508 – Criminal Record Statement
LIC 508 verifies that the home care aide does not have any criminal background.
SOC 341a – STATEMENT ACKNOWLEDGING REQUIREMENT TO REPORT SUSPECTED ABUSE
SOC341a mandates that all employees must report any suspected negligence and abuse. All home care organizations in California must also include training in reporting abuse, which includes who they must report to and what constitutes abuse.
Tuberculosis test (TB)
A TB test must be on file and it must be done either 90 days prior to hiring or 7 days after. Both chest X-rays and skin tests suffice.
Up to Date training Log
The following link is an example of the training log.
5 hours of training is required for every year of employment. The first year requires 5 hours of training. This includes 2 hours of orientation and 3 hours of other training.
The log does not have to be signed. Training can be done in person or on videos as long as they are logged correctly.
Home Care Aide Registration proof
The following page can be used to look up the status of Home Care Aide’s registration and also that they are associated with the Home Care organization.
If you do not have your home care aide number, you can call the phone number 1-877-424-5778 to get it assuming you have the person’s name and SSN number.
If you need information on how to get registered, refer to the following post.
The cost is 60 dollars, which is separate from the cost of fingerprinting.
As always make sure to verify that the links/forms are the most up to date version.
If you have any questions or would like assistance with your home care company, please visit our website at
or email me at